Walter Sisulu University is a university of technology and science in Mthatha, Eastern Cape, South Africa, which came into existence on 1 July 2005 as a result of a merger between Border Technikon, Eastern Cape Technikon and University of Transkei.



It was established on 1 July, 2005 in terms of the Higher Education Act No. 101 of 1997, as amended and was named in honour of an icon of the South African liberation struggle, the late Walter Max Ulyate Sisulu who was a close comrade of Nelson Mandela.

Geographic positioning

Spanning over 1,000 kms in the Province of the Eastern Cape, WSU is ideally positioned to deliver a wide range of educational and development opportunities.

WSU’s mandate

WSU will maintain the traditional role of a University as a centre of higher learning, where theoretical and other intellectual pursuits are combined to serve a larger and more specific role it has defined as that of a Developmental University, ascribing to itself the imperative of making a significant contribution to regional, national and continental development.

Corporate governance

As a public institution of higher education, WSU is governed by the Constitution, the Public Finance Management Act, the Higher Education Act, Promotion of Access to Information Act, Labour Relations Act, Occupational Health and Safety Act and other requisite acts.

Governance of the University is also guided by the governance principles contained in King III Report and the Walter Sisulu University Statute.


Apart from its vibrant academic core business, WSU has a number of directorates and centres which drive various strategic directions:

  • Directorate of Research
  • Directorate of Postgraduate Studies
  • Centre for Rural Development
  • Enterprise Development Centre
  • Centre for Community and International Partnerships
  • Centre for Learning & Teaching Development
  • Centre for HIV/Aids.

WSU’s core business

The University’s core business is teaching, research and community engagement.

It offers over 175 qualifications with the following priority programme focus areas:

  • Science, engineering and technology
  • Communication, business and management
  • Education
  • Accounting and management sciences
  • Health sciences
  • Natural sciences
  • Humanities, social sciences and law.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here